The 27 Regional Parks of Auckland

November 6, 2020
Listen to the podcast

THE Auckland region has twenty-seven regional parks. The parks are a legacy of a generation of immediately post-World War II conservationists such as Jim Holdaway and Judge Arnold Turner, who saw that a booming Auckland metropolis would need these green lungs conserved.

The regional parks of Auckland are shown as red circles with yellow centres in the following map, which also shows ferry routes. From the top of the map downward, they are:

+ Te Ārai Regional Park

+ Glenfern Sanctuary Regional Parkland (on Aotea / Great Barrier Island)

+ Pākiri Regional Park (near Leigh)

+ Ātiu Creek Regional Park (southwest of Wellsford)

+ Tāwharanui Regional Park (east of Warkworth)

+ Scandrett Regional Park (south-east of Warkworth)

+ Te Rau Pūriri Regional Park (on the South Head of the Kaipara Harbour, the harbour which is fed by the Whakaki River)

+ Mahurangi Regional Park (south of Warkworth)

+ Wenderholm Regional Park

+ Shakespear Regional Park (at the tip of the long, thin Whangaparaoa peninsula)

+ Long Bay Regional Park

+ Muriwai Regional Park (on the west coast)

+ Whakanewha Regional Park (on Waiheke Island)

+ Motukorea Browns Island Regional Park

+ Auckland Botanic Gardens (in the city)

+ Waitākere Ranges Regional Park, including Anawhata, Arataki Visitor Centre, Cascade Kauri, Cornwallis, Huia, Karekare, Piha, Te Henga / Bethells, and Whatipū Scientific Reserve

+ Ōmana Regional Park

+ Duder Regional Park

+ Waitawa Regional Park

+ Tawhitokino Regional Park

+ Mutukaroa, Hamlins Hill Regional Park (in the city)

+ Ambury Regional Park (in the city)

+ Tāpapakanga Regional Park

+ Waharau Regional Park

+ Āwhitu Regional Park (on the Āwhitu peninsula, which forms the south head of Manukau Harbour, south of Auckland city)

+ Whakatīwai Regional Park

+ Hunua Ranges Regional Park

Background map data (c)2020 Google. North at top.

The regional park network has been continually added to since the time of its original founders, who would probably have been impressed to see that we now have twenty-seven.

Here is the Auckland Council page for all the regional parks:

This page is a resource for my new book The Neglected North Island: New Zealand's other half. Check it out on the website when it appears!


Subscribe to our mailing list to receive free giveaways!

Thanks for subscribing. You can expect to receive more information about Mary Jane, her top travel tips, free downloads of Mary Jane's award-winning books, and more, straight to your inbox!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form. Try again or contact us if you're still having trouble.

Share and subscribe

Share this post on Facebook or Twitter, and subscribe to new posts with RSS.

Recent Blog Posts

April 14, 2021

Around Mount Taranaki by the Southern Side

Continue reading
April 13, 2021

'The Town of Light': Reefton and the Kirwans Track

Continue reading
April 11, 2021

There's more to Hanmer than Springs!

Continue reading